The DC Metro is known for its “meteorological sensitivity;” meaning both, politically and specifically weather related phenomena; did I say weather-related? Comparable to psycho-somatic symptomatics, weather systems have their own dynamics here. If a few flurries are expected, schools will be closed that day; snow-mowers are at every intersection and block traffic successfully; just like snow would, if it were to materialize. Now, whenever snow would stay  on the ground, life in the nation’s capital and the surrounding areas in Maryland and Virginia would come to a total halt. Even “mission essential” professionals would not “sighted.” The only appearance of human life would be in form of snow moving entities. I learned a valuable lesson with this week’s “snowmaggedon;” I thought I had, as mandated, packed a well-equipped duffel bag for at least two nights, should we be “locked in.” Once in the hotel room, I learned what it meant to take care of your future self. Other than one halfway decent gym outfit, there were no necessities, such as deodorant; teeth maintenance utensils; underwear, nor fluffy bed shoes. I almost felt traumatized by “the person” who let me down; who was trusted to be “mission ready for anything at any time.”

Emerson • 3 major sections – Importance of self-reliance – Self-reliance and the individual – Self-reliance and society • Measure by role performance? – Personal experience and observation • BE THE OBSERVER! – Individualism or a copy of a copy of a copy?”

At this point I was a sorry copy of a cartoon figure, not the person I intend to become. I re-assessed myself in light of the many life-giving methodologies received in the Master Key and decided, from now on, to practice following Mental Diet, for the time being, without an end date: What would my Future Self do next? Better yet. What would Me, who is my Future Self, do next?

I did not only let me down but also others who knocked at my door in high expectations that I had extra of everything. I ended up sharing chocolate, which clearly must have been my priority, as I had plenty. Likewise, I ended up applying “camping survival skills” by brushing my teeth with paper. Work ended up being rewarding, as my mental attitude was comical. The “Old Book” generously left in the hotel room by the Gideons, reminded me:

Oh, how I love your law!
I meditate on it all day long.
98 Your commands are always with me
and make me wiser than my enemies.
99 I have more insight than all my teachers,
for I meditate on your statutes.
100 I have more understanding than the elders,
for I obey your precepts.
101 I have kept my feet from every evil path
so that I might obey your word.
102 I have not departed from your laws,
for you yourself have taught me. Ps 119

Ready for the next mission. I always keep my promises!

2 thoughts on “My Future Raphaela Person

Leave a Reply

